Alpha Epsilon Eta: Award Winning Team

Author: Share:


By Marcia Leftridge

The officers of Cuyahoga Community College’s (Eastern Campus) Phi Theta Kappa, Alpha Epsilon Eta Chapter finished first place in the College Project at Columbus State Community College. Out of 14 community college teams competing from across Ohio and West Virginia region, Alpha Epsilon Eta was able to take home the victory after hosting the 2nd annual Veteran’s Dinner, and was recognized at the regional conference in San Antonio, Texas in March 2015.

Founded in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is the International Honor Society of two-year colleges and is the largest honor society in American higher education. Phi Theta Kappa was established to recognize and encourage academic achievement of two-year college students and to provide opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. Many members of the Alpha Epsilon Chapter are taking advantage of these opportunities.

“I love everything PTK stands for,” said Sharmayne Schaffer, Alpha Epsilon Eta’s newest PTK president. “PTK is not only encouraging me to succeed academically, but it is prepping me to be a leader in my community, school and the world.”

To be eligible for induction, Cuyahoga Community College (any campus) students must have earned 12 hours of college credit with an overall minimum 3.5 GPA; thereafter students must maintain minimum GPA of 3.2. New members will be inducted into the Alpha Epsilon Eta Chapter or prospective campuses.

Cutline: PTK- Alpha Epsilon Eta chapter at the regional conference in San Antonio, Texas Charmane Osborne, Marcia Leftridge, Rita Mckinley, Lavette Edgerson, Erica Maines.




Previous Article

Tri-C Names Craig Foltin As Vice President of Access, Learning, and Success

Next Article

Tri-C to Sex Offenders: YOU MUST REPORT!

More from The Voice

Leave a Reply